Posted by: kstridegoudie | June 21, 2015

Proud Principal Moments … Grade 9 Farewell – Muir Lake School

It’s June 19 … and it’s pouring outside …

Inside Muir Lake School the gym is full of parents, grandparents, family, friends and staff … all here to celebrate with our Grade 9s.  Most of these students have been a part of this school community since Kindergarten … they have spent ten years of their lives here.

GR 9 Stage Farewell

 

I take my place on stage to address this amazing audience …

… and I am filled with pride.

Below are a few thoughts I shared …

 

 

GRADE 9s

You were in Grade 6 when I came here to be the principal

Together … We have navigated through adolescence

— the good, the bad, the ugly.

We have had many opportunities to learn and grow together in this community – of Muir Lake School.

Beginning of the year –

  • Challenge from Mr.Mackay, Mr.Yurick, Mrs.Dickson and Mrs. Arnold.

Finish the race well.

Finish your Muir Lake Race well.

Last night I sat in my office and read your report cards.

I have had MANY “Proud Principal Moments” since I came to Muir Lake four years ago … and some of those proud moments I experienced last night as I read your report cards.

As I read through your CSR – Citizenship comments I noted the following adjectives used to describe you …

  • Respect, Responsibility, Integrity, Empathy, Compassion, Trustworthiness, Leadership, and Kindness.

I selected two examples to share with you … I could have read many …

“______ you have demonstrated a great deal of empathy and compassion this year. You listen to the ideas of your peers and respect their contributions to class discussion. You also respect the classroom expectations and model the utmost respect in your choices and behaviors. You are an absolutely wonderful role model for your peers.”

“It has been a pleasure teaching _____. He is a model student, driven to succeed. He demonstrates trustworthiness while seeking to understand the point of view of others without necessarily agreeing. He is concerned about the welfare of others and takes on leadership roles and participates in school activities. He willingly engages in group activities and values teamwork. He understands the decision-making process. Thank-you for being a positive influence on your classmates!”

GRADE 9s …

You have finished the race with excellence …

  • excellence in academics
  • excellence in athletics
  • excellence in character

WE ARE ALL VERY PROUD OF YOU !!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

